View All Top College Articles

What does the HLC look for when it accredits colleges and universities?

In 2005, the HLC adopted a new set of criteria for evaluation:

  • Criterion One: Mission and Integrity
  • Criterion Two: Preparing for the Future
  • Criterion Three: Student Learning and Effective Teaching
  • Criterion Four: Acquisition, Discovery and Application of Knowledge
  • Criterion Five: Engagement and Service

HLC expects that ARCC has evaluated examples of evidence to support each criteria and its components. In addition, the Consultant-Evaluators also expect to see evidence that the organization is future-oriented, learning-focused, connected, and distinctive.


Schools Offering Degrees in Network Administration
Criminal Justice Degrees